Got any Grapes?

Click on and listen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Ux7uNxTfTA&feature=related

The above link has nothing to do with anything.  It doesn’t speak to Jessie’s having identified as transgender, nor does it reflect how her transition has played out both for herself and for our family.  It does, however, make me smile every time I listen to it.  And I listen to it often.

Sometimes it is an escape such as this that it precisely what I need.  There are times that I sit down to write a blog post and find myself bristling at the mere thought of revisiting the events of the day.  Other times, I cannot bear to even think about all that our family has already been through, not to mention all that lies ahead.  I don’t want to type the word penis.  I feel profoundly uninterested in displaying (proving?) my strength to myself or, perhaps more dramatically, my readers.  Yep, sometimes I want to just forget about the whole thing and get lost in the silliness of The Duck Song.

I think this is a good thing.  It helps to keep me from losing my sense of humor and revives my ability to revel in the inane melody which I dare you to be able to forget.  The fact that Jessie and I regularly listen to it together is just icing on the cake.  It is an assured couple of minutes when I am not worried about her, she is not worried about her and all is good with the world.   Who knew that a little duck could make me so happy?

Got any grapes?

p.s. Special thanks to Bianca who was the first to share The Duck Song phenomenon with me…xoxo

15 thoughts on “Got any Grapes?

  1. It sounds like a much-needed (and much-deserved) mini-break – perfect for when you don’t have the chance for a Big Break… I’m glad you all do get the chance to do something that just allows your brains to hum along in peace for a while – so much so that I think I’ll be taking a leaf out of your book from now on! Ducks awaaaay… 🙂

    -JC

  2. Yes, sometimes it is good to duck away from the everyday stuff, lest you quack up. So, the man was the one stuck with the bill for the grapes? Waddle that smart ass duck think of next (as long as the man hasn’t any glue)?

  3. One of the things I love about reading your blog is that you make it very clear that you never get very far from your worry about the future and yet still manage to find survivalist humor in situations as they come up. This is tough stuff and I appreciate your writing more than you can imagine.

  4. I’ll be singing The Duck Song all day. But, of all weeks, did you have to mention the icing on the cake? Do you think the duck eats matzah? I’m so glad that Jesse will sit and listen with you. Cherish the moments.

  5. Ah, but of course! The duck taunts and teases the man demanding one thing and then changes it’s mind once there is an attempt to give the duck what he wants!

    Got any lemonade?

    Joanne

Leave a Reply

