25 Things You Don’t (or Might Not) Know About Me

  1. I have a very small family: two brothers and three male cousins.  When I was born, on April Fool’s Day, no one believed my parents that I was a girl.  (Oh, the irony.)
  2. Although I hate talking on the phone, I would literally shrivel up and die should anyone take away my cell phone. (Note: Texting, how I love thee…)
  3. I had a lypoma on my back that, once I finally had surgically removed, was the size of a grapefruit.  Gross, right?
  4. I am (by far and without competition) the least technically or mechanically savvy person in my house.  Proof: when Harrison was eight he put together a stroller for Jessie…and it never occurred to me to be concerned that it was done correctly.
  5. If it were up to me, I would go to the movies a minimum of three nights a week.  However, I will never see a sci-fi, horror or Adam Sandler flick.  Ever.
  6. I have to carefully schedule any crying jags as I am left with red, painful, puffy and generally disgusting eyes for a minimum of twelve hours after the fact.
  7. I waver (sometimes hourly) between being totally cool and totally hysterical about what lays ahead for Jessie.
  8. I sometimes feel so much pressure to write something meaningful, inspiring or thought-provoking that I am, instead, rendered unable to finish a thought let alone write a word.  (So, I do things like tell you 25 things you might not know about me…mostly so you know I am still hanging in and haven’t forgotten about my blog.)
  9. I am nothing if not honest.  (See #7)
  10. When there was nothing particularly nerve-racking happening in my life I suffered from terrible panic attacks.  Now that I have something legit to freak out about, not so much.  (Note: Hope I didn’t just set myself up.)
  11. My hair, which is arguably my best asset, is the bane of my existence.  It is too thick, heavy, curly and voluminous for its own good. (Shallow, I know, but see #9.)
  12. Harrison’s best friend, Alex, has me in his cell phone as “mom2”.  I kinda love that.
  13. There are times that I look at Jessie and am overcome with admiration for her bravery.  There are other times I look at her and kinda wish she was George*.  True.
  14. I look just like my father.  I always wished I looked like my mother.  Nice looking man, better looking woman.
  15. I text with my left pointer finger and not my thumbs.  It drives Harrison a little crazy.  That makes it more fun.
  16. I loathe, detest, abhor and shudder at photographs of myself.  On the rare occasion that there is one I deem halfway decent, I can assure you, it will be publicized.
  17. For a good time, call my brother, RRL.  It is nearly impossible to not have a better time doing whatever you are doing when he (and DEP) are/is around.
  18. There are many things I should, but have not yet exposed my children to.  Fortunately, I have nurtured and supported their love of “Gilligan’s Island”.  And, yes, there is some dissension in the Ginger/Mary Anne vote.
  19. The only thing that I know for sure is that I have no idea where my children, one in particular, are going to land.  There, I said it.
  20. I have considered removing all of the “Real Housewives” shows from my DVR, but then thought better of it.  In comparison to them, I am livin’ the dream.
  21. Reward charts never worked for my children.  I never understood why.  Then I remembered that they are my children and that whole instant gratification thing.
  22. I pat myself on the back and applaud my self-restraint when I get through the checkout line at the market (or CVS) without a magazine.  Any magazine.  Small victories.
  23. I am famously a pre-worrier, but never about big things…only stupid, ridiculous things that are never going to happen.
  24. I am a vomit-phobe. (I know, I know….everyone knows that!)
  25. In my heart of hearts I know that everything is going to be okay.  (If you know otherwise, please keep it to yourself.  Thanks.)

*Please do not interpret this as anything other than what it is: fear, honesty and a little more fear. 

24 thoughts on “25 Things You Don’t (or Might Not) Know About Me

  1. Bravo!!! And I am right there with you on #20. That one really puts our lives into perspective! All good. Getting to the honest truth is a good place to be. Not everyone can get there. Much love, H

  2. Yeah, “25 Things I Do (or Was Not Surprised to Learn) About Julie, and 25 Reasons Why I Love Her” ❤ *Please do not interpret this as anything other than what it is: smart-assedness, honesty, and a little more smart-assedness. 😉

  3. #8) We all know you’re a super busy Mom with a lot going on so please don’t feel pressured to add to your burden. No news is good news right? Still, I’ll admit it that I Sooo look forward to reading your blog (no pressure, right?) and hear how y’all are fairing. Thanks for sharing.

  4. 1. 18 1st cousins (don’t speak to most of them) and 2 fab sisters. Big families aren’t necessarily better !
    5. Right???? Although what’s wrong with Adam Sandler – I kind of think he’s cute and kind of like potty humor movies since I’m not that bright…..
    7. Agreed !
    8. Who cares? I love top 10 (or 25) lists of anything. Next could be top 25 worst Baker mom hair dos (don’t include me though)
    9. You said it SISTER
    11. Shut up…..so jealous of your hair – always have been since pre-school but I still love ya
    12. Aaaawwwwww
    13. Sometimes I do too – but my least favorite family member gave me 1 true pieceof advice – “things never turn out how you worry them”. So far – has turned out to be true
    14. Junie is Gorgeous ! So was your Dad…..
    16. Don’t all women?????? (Except maybe Julia Roberts )
    20. Hah! Don’t do it…..
    22. See advice from #13

    You are the best ! Keep blogging ! It makes up for the fact that we don’t see each other at the playground since our kids are tweens and would be mortified if we hung out at school. xoxo

  5. p.s. #25 – here here ! I whole heartedly know that everything will be all-right ! I forgot to include in last post. You have a great family and 2 great kids. They are both happy and healthy and smart. What more could you want ??? XOXO

  6. I hope it brings a smile to your face to know that everytime I read one of your blogs, I get a smile on my face. Truly enjoy reading your writings.
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

