At Least One of Us Can Still Create

Over the past few days I have started and aborted six, yes, six, blog posts.  One was too intense, another made no sense but did make me out to be a blithering, rambling idiot (something I have been accused of by  just slightly more than one Huffington Post reader) and the other four just sucked.  I cut, pasted, rearranged and ultimately deleted each of them with a grand flourish of highlighting.  Occasionally when I do this I then regret having hit the delete button too hastily, but not so with any of these.  Unsure if that is a good thing or a bad thing…

One might surmise, given the honesty of the posts I have published thus far, that I have no boundaries and am willing to share just about anything that transpires in these parts. Not so.  In fact, one of the reasons that I am having such a difficult time writing now is because I have found myself in territory which is personal, intense and not (suitable?) for public consumption.  Oh, I have plenty of stories which would make for great (no, make that outstanding!) reading  but am unable to share.  Some are funny (in the insane way that only the parent of a transgender child can possibly fully appreciate), others are ridiculous (see previous parentheses) and others are just plain outside the scope of that which I am willing to share with the world.  As such, I am stuck in a self-imposed writer’s block (read: I have plenty to write, but just cannot go there right now).

But fear not!  I am not going anywhere, but for today I am  just popping in for a moment to let you know that all is fine (lest you conclude otherwise from my silence) and I will be back just as soon as the right (define as you see fit) words come to mind.

Until then, let me again share some of Jessie’s latest work.

30 thoughts on “At Least One of Us Can Still Create

  1. Julie:
    Keep writing, its a great way to work through all those scrambled thoughts and feelings; just don’t post them. Instead, write and keep them safe. Someday you’ll want to look back and read your thoughts; relive those laughs and awkward moments that only the mother of trans child can experience and appreciate.
    All the best.

  2. I write because its therapy for me. Sometimes, I look back at old posts and think wtf. But, at the time they had meaning, they were relevant. I write because its therapy for me, that other people read it is pretty cool too.

  3. I have been following your posts for a while now. You are a truly special mother to your daughter and she is such a lucky young lady to have a mother like you. Your support and acceptance is truly amazing. I just wish I could get a part of that loving acceptance from my parents.

    • Thank you, Melissa. I am sure that your parents are doing the best that they can…that is all we can do. I am fortunate to live in an incredibly accepting community and to be surrounded by wonderful family and friends. I do no know your particular situation, but hope that you and your parents are all able to find peace and common ground. This is not easy stuff, for sure. Stay strong!

Leave a Reply

