Cait

Please watch it.  I wasn’t really planning on it myself, but I set the DVR just in case I changed my mind.  About twenty minutes after it began to air, I hopped on, only partially attentive.  “I Am Cait” was simply excellent.

iamcait

I feared it would be a three ring circus.  It was not.

I worried that it would be fluff.  It was not.

I assumed that the presence of the Karsdashians would destroy any authenticity.  It did not.

I thought it would focus on the “pretty” and not address the deep, dark and scary.  It did not.  And it did.

Caitlyn, her story, her family and yes, even Kylie, Kim and Kanye showed a depth of acceptance, honesty and understanding that I was quite sure they never thought they would have to…and publicly at that.

I appreciated and empathized with Esther Jenner: she screwed up pronouns, acknowledged her fears, and owned that she lacked understanding.  She was bold enough to recall and inquire if a five year old Bruce not wanting to try on clothes meant more and she missed it.  She shared genuine tears at the loss of Bruce and a truly happiness about her child’s bravery.

Caitlin knows that she has a power that is bigger than she is and takes her responsibility to the Trans community seriously.  She knows that most will not have the opportunities that she has been afforded.  She wants to help.  Genuinely.

Please watch this program.  In many ways, it has nothing at all to do with transgender.  It has everything to do with being a good person with an open heart and soul.  The soul we are born with…

5 thoughts on “Cait

  1. Spoiler alert for those of us on the other side of the country! 😉 They’re showing it at least three separate times tonight, if you think that you might have missed it at 8:00. I actually have to wait until my wife goes to bed, as she is not interested in watching somebody else’s transgender life – I am all she can handle.

  2. I am watching it On Demand (Verizon Fios) right now. I would have missed it without your post and I would have missed out on so much. Poignant and sensitive and smart. She will change the world and many many lives. May take time, but she will.

  3. Mark me as “hopeful”. As a 64-year-old transgender woman, I did relate to Caitlyn’s situation on just about every level. Of course, I expected that I would. I watched it more analytically – on the presentation of her story. I’m not sure that it did much to change the minds of the cynics, as there was still a bit of flavor of KUWTK, and even a couple of product placements (Kenye’s shoes and a designer dress). For those people who may have tuned in with a mere curiosity, though, it was a good introduction to the meaning of “transgender” and how so many – not just the transgender person – are affected.

    I wonder how many of these 8 episodes are already in the can. Caitlyn’s transition has been such a whirlwind because of her notoriety, and I’m sure she’s much further along now than she was when this first episode was produced. That’s not to say that she doesn’t have a long way to go, as I don’t believe there is really a point where a trans person can use the word “transitionED” for him or herself; some things cannot be resolved, even if accepted. I’m waiting for her to reconsider her statement that coming out is the hardest thing she’s ever had to do. I would argue that the hiding and deceitfulness over so many years was (and is), ultimately, more difficult to deal with, as the guilt from it is not so easily dismissed. I would also argue that the courage belongs more to the family members and loved ones than it does to the trans person. As Caitlyn said, it’s like a 1,000 pound weight has been dropped from the shoulders. The trick is to keep it from landing on the shoulders of others.

Leave a Reply

