I’m Sorry and Thank You – 5778

On this, the eve of Yom Kippur, allow me to apologize:

To my mother for feeling, and sometimes acting, like a 10 year old when she decided to and then actually did, move across the country.  I’ve never lived so far from you, and the distance, if we are being honest, still freaks me out a little.  Thank you for taking up residence near the ocean and being bad-ass all the time.

To my son for my inability to right certain wrongs, much as I would love to.  Thank you for making me so proud and for being a kind, responsible and independent man.

To my daughter for upending your life and moving you away from all that you knew.  Thank you for being along on the ride with me and for making me laugh every damn day.

To my stepsons for my getting frustrated with your 10- and 12-year old selves.  Thank you for telling me you love me every day. I love you back.

To my brothers for my not always being able to re-pay you, in every sense of the word,  for all your wonderfulness.  Thank you for always being the brothers that every girl wants to have.

To my husband for (almost always) understanding what a big deal my move was to me and my kids.  Thank you for providing us a beautiful home and a beautiful new life.

To my in-laws for allowing me the occasional freak-out and bouts of neediness.  Thank you for being the best in-laws ever.

To my ex-husband for taking what I am going to thank you for in the spirit in which it is intended.  Thank you for being a better ex-husband than you were a husband.

To my husband’s ex-wife for my having barged on the scene, your scene.  Thank you for allowing us to get to the place that we are with one another.  It takes a village.

To my old friends for understanding my need to make a life in my new town, often not making enough time for you.  Thank you for the love and support you have always shared with me.

To my new friends for allowing me to shake things up a little…but in a good way.  Thank you for embracing, including and loving me.

May this be a year of new adventures, growth, happiness and good health.

Wishing you all a meaningful Yom Kippur and an easy fast.

2 thoughts on “I’m Sorry and Thank You – 5778

  1. Thank you for your openness and strong spirit as not only a mother, but as a Jew and a human being. It is truly a blessing to read your words and share in your joys and trials. May you be sealed for a year of beauty and serenity. Have an easy and meaningful fast.

Leave a Reply

